Crete

Hello. I am now in Crete. Still in Greece.

The boat trip from Santorini to Crete was quite trying. The boat, despite a very large one, was very crowded. Somehow it felt like Titanic. The boat was delayed by 1.5 hours and arrived in Iraklion, the Cretan capital, at 10:30 pm. The strange thing was that it seemed that all the doors and staircases on the boat had been designed to inconvenience the passengers – very narrow passageways, very high threadsholds. It took forever for the passengers to get off the boat. I couldn’t help but think what if there were an accident, a fire maybe?

The Mediterranean Sea was as dark as ink at night. I could see nothing except the distant light of another boat, a very low yellow-coloured new moon, and a whole sky of stars.

I am glad that my boat trips are over. From now on, I only need to take planes and trains.It is always good to travel because one is bound to encounter something new. Iraklion feels like the old Kowloon City – there are always planes flying past overhead. And it is not a city of a scale comparable to ours. It is not even an attractive city. (Come to think of it, I don’t like it.) I walked on the busiest part of Iraklion at lunchtime today and there came a plane. It sounded very different, the noise was very sharp and very loud. The plane, flying quite low, was flat and of triangle shape. And it turned swiftly in the sky. I thought to myself, "looks like a Concord." But then there was another one after it. After that, two others. They seemed more like a corp of combat flights instead of Concords. What was going on? Any military actions nearby?

Bye.

This entry was posted in 旅行. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment